He Was at FlightPath Coffee This Morning

He was engrossed in his writing, and using his Bible as reference

I rarely go out painting at early breakfast hours, because there just aren’t a lot of early birds in the summer for me to paint. This morning, I just felt like going out early. It seemed like a good day for FlightPath.

When I arrived, there was only one other customer in the back half of the coffee house. I was able to set up at my favorite table, have breakfast, and wait for some more folks to arrive.

This young man had a sweet, intent disposition. He had on a bright yellow shirt that matched the walls, but I have omitted yellow from my palette for a spell – I don’t know why.

He had a big leather Bible that was to the right of his laptop, that he was referencing as he wrote. The deeper he got into his thinking and writing, the more often he reached for it. At first, the Bible was laying properly, and then he flipped it on its spine, splaying open the pages. The next time, he laid the Bible on its belly, splitting the book  somewhere in the first sections of the Old Testament.

I know that a lot of younger clergy hang out in coffee houses, and some folks have Bible studies there. But, his intense study said “Seminary student” to me. I really don’t know…

4 Comments

  1. Posted August 4, 2010 at 3:25 pm | Permalink

    Terrific; he looks intensely focused and maybe a bit surprised.

  2. Posted August 4, 2010 at 4:53 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for leaving the note. I am an Episcopal Priest and work in full time college ministry at UT. I was working on a teaching series I’m doing the fall.

  3. Val
    Posted August 4, 2010 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

    Indeed, a millennial priest working on a sermon!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*