Early Riser at FlightPath Coffee

The only customer in the back room in the early morning

I arrived early at FlightPath. This man came in a few minutes afterwards. I was trying to be really discreet, and not get caught painting him, but I’m fairly certain that he knew. It’s always best to have a buffer zone of other customers to offer distractions.

Since I have taken yellow off my palette for now, this painting took on a somber tone, even though the walls are really yellow. It matched the mood perfectly – with his gray box-tailed shirt, and his black pants and soft-soled nubuck shoes. The painting and subject took on a muted tone, and that is exactly what I experienced. As if activity was suspended and murky. It didn’t help that I had stolen the lamp of his table before he arrived.

4 Comments

  1. Posted August 27, 2010 at 12:13 pm | Permalink

    I really like what you’re dong with these portraits. Thanks for having a web presence.

  2. Barb Martin
    Posted September 3, 2010 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    As always, perfectly captured. I feel like I’m there – can smell the coffee and hear a subtle clatter of dishes in the background. Like the late morning before the lunch crowd. He seems to fade into the scene like he is uncomfortable being noticed. I have known people or noticed people very similar to him.
    Love your work!
    Barb

  3. Posted September 7, 2010 at 5:23 pm | Permalink

    What an interesting thought of simply removing a color from your life. I’ll have to mentally try that on for a bit. Maybe phlorescent green. For some reason that hue gives me the willies.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*