I Saw Eric Johnson at Houndstooth Coffee

He was sitting in the front corner

Eric Johnson came into Houndstooth Coffee, and sat up front, directly across the room from me. He looked almost the same as he did over 30 years ago, when my husband did some studio keyboard work with him. I could have gone over and done the “Remember me?” stuff, but I didn’t want to intrude on his morning. Some young college kid recognized him and chatted it up, and Eric was lovely to him – just like I remember that he was to everyone in the past. I have no idea what he is up to musically these days. I’m sure that he doesn’t know that I have kept up my work, either. Best to him and the lady that was with him.

5 Comments

  1. Erin
    Posted August 31, 2011 at 11:16 pm | Permalink

    Great drawing! I’m the lady who’s with Eric. If only you’d have had time to sketch me, too. Best to you!

    • Posted September 1, 2011 at 6:32 am | Permalink

      Hi, there!
      I’m surprised that you found me! I’ve never had anyone that I have drawn find me out before.
      I wish that I would have had time to draw you.
      Tell Eric “hello” from Jimmy and Lavanna (Ward) Martin.

  2. Posted September 5, 2011 at 12:14 am | Permalink

    Hi! A fellow Austinite here. I just discovered your blog. Such a great idea! I noticed that there was a bit of gap between 2010 and 2011 on your posts. Hopefully it was just a break and you’re back to posting regularly. 🙂

    • Posted September 5, 2011 at 7:47 am | Permalink

      Hi, Daniellle.

      I really plan on posting more regularly. I got discouraged about my painting about a year ago, and decided to take a break.
      During that time, I returned to work as a graphic designer, and that pulled me away completely for a while.
      Thanks for asking. I’m going to pop over to your tumblr site and see what you’re up to.

      ~Lavanna

  3. Barb Martin
    Posted September 7, 2011 at 11:58 am | Permalink

    It is so nice to see you’re posting again. I love seeing your work it is very inspiring.
    Thank you for allowing all of us to enjoy it!
    Barb


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*